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PETITION FOR OCCUPATIONAL LICENSE

, seek an occupational license from this court based

on the information provided below. (You must swear that the information you provide in this
petition is true and correct. Failure to provide true and accurate information may result in
criminal penalties.)

Section 1. General Information.

My name is:
My date of birth is:

[ am a resident of County, Texas.

My home address is:

My mailing address (if different than above) is:

My Texas driver’s license number is:

O
O
O

O

O
O

[ am employed, and my occupation is
[ am the primary caretaker of children less than 16 years of age.

[ have been ordered by a magistrate to install an ignition interlock device on my vehicle,
and/or not to operate any vehicle which is not equipped with an ignition interlock device.
[ have not been ordered by a magistrate to install an ignition interlock device on my vehicle,
and/or not to operate any vehicle which is not equipped with an ignition interlock device.
[ have a commercial driver’s license.

[ do not have a commercial driver’s license.

Section 2. Reason(s) for Driver’s License Suspension.

O

My driver’s license has been suspended as the result of an arrest for an intoxication-related
offense in County, because:
O A peace officer requested a sample of my breath or blood and I refused; or
O I provided a sample of my breath or blood, and the sample contained an alcohol
concentration greater than 0.08.
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O

My driver’s license has been automatically suspended as the result of a conviction for
Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) in a County or District Court.

My driver’s license has been suspended as the result of a conviction for a criminal offense
in a justice or municipal court. (Please provide information regarding this offense,
including the name of the court in which you were convicted, the cause number, and the
type of offense, below.)

My driver’s license has been suspended as the result of a physical or mental disability.

My driver’s license has been suspended as the result of a conviction for Racing on a
Highway.

My driver’s license has been suspended because a court found that I am a “habitual violator
of traffic laws.”

My driver’s license has been suspended because a court ordered me to attend a Driver
Education Program and suspended my license for 365 days.

My driver’s license has been suspended because of a failure to pay surcharges ordered by
the State of Texas.

My driver’s license has been suspended for another reason, described below:

Section 3. Essential Need.

(Note: In order to obtain an occupational license, you must demonstrate an essential need to
operate a motor vehicle. The Texas Transportation Code defines “essential need” as the “need of
a person for the operation of a motor vehicle: (A) in the performance of an occupation or trade or
for transportation to and from the place at which the person practices the person's occupation or
trade; (B) for transportation to and from an educational facility in which the person is enrolled; or
(C) in the performance of essential household duties.” In order to demonstrate an essential need
to operate a motor vehicle, you may attach additional documentation, such as a letter from your
employer. If you attach additional documentation, be sure to check the appropriate box in Section
5 of this petition.)

O

[ am seeking this occupational license in order to (check all that apply):
O Travel to and from my place of work;
O Perform the duties of my job;
O Travel to and from school; or
O Perform essential household duties.
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The following are addresses and descriptions of all destinations to which I seek to travel with
my occupational license:

Below, I have fully described all public transportation options within one mile of any
destination described above, including my home, place of work, school, or place where |
perform essential household duties. Public transportation options may include bus service,
rail service, rural automobile service, ride-sharing services, etc.

O Iam the only member of my household who owns, leases, or has access to a motor vehicle.
O A member of my household other than me owns, leases, or has access to a motor vehicle.

O (Please describe this person’s weekly schedule below.)

O Iown abicycle or other means of non-motorized conveyance, described below.

O My work or school schedule is the same every week: I work or attend school during the
following hours on the following days of the week (check all that apply):
Monday:
Tuesday:
Wednesday:
Thursday:
Friday:
Saturday:
Sunday:

OoOo0O0ooOooOoono
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O My work or school schedule varies from week to week. (If you check this box, provide a
general description of your work or school schedule below, including the total number of
hours you work or attend school each week, days of the week on which you never work or
attend school, days of the week on which you always work or attend school, and the earliest
time your work or school day begins and the latest time your work or school day ends.)

O My job duties include automobile travel. My employer requires me to travel by automobile
to perform the following tasks:

O Iperform the following essential household duties:

O In order to perform the essential household duties described above, I must travel by
automobile during the following hours on the following days of the week (check all that
apply):

Monday:

Tuesday:

Wednesday:

Thursday:

Friday:

Saturday:

Sunday:

O Inorder to:

O Travel to school;

O Travel to my place of work;

O Perform my job duties; or

O Travel to the place I perform essential household duties;

OO0O0O0O0O00

I must travel by automobile to or through the following Texas counties (please fully
describe all counties and routes traveled):
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Section 4. Suspension History
My driver’s license has previously been suspended for:
O A second or subsequent conviction for Driving While Intoxicated (Section 49.04, Penal

Code); Intoxication Assault (Section 49.07, Penal Code), or Intoxication Manslaughter
(Section 49.08, Penal Code), committed within five years of a previous conviction for
Driving While Intoxicated (Section 49.04, Penal Code); Intoxication Assault (Section 49.07,
Penal Code), or Intoxication Manslaughter (Section 49.08, Penal Code).

In the past five years, my license has been suspended for:
O A refusal to submit to the taking of a breath or blood specimen following an arrest for an

offense prohibiting the operation of a motor vehicle or an offense prohibiting the operation
of a watercraft while intoxicated, under the influence of alcohol, or under the influence of a
controlled substance.

O Ananalysis of a breath or blood specimen showing an alcohol concentration of .08 or above,
following an arrest for an offense prohibiting the operation of a motor vehicle or watercraft
while intoxicated.

O A conviction for Driving While Intoxicated (Section 49.04, Penal Code); Intoxication Assault
(Section 49.07, Penal Code), or Intoxication Manslaughter (Section 49.08, Penal Code).

O A conviction for an offense other than Driving While Intoxicated (Section 49.04, Penal
Code); Intoxication Assault (Section 49.07, Penal Code), or Intoxication Manslaughter
(Section 49.08, Penal Code) prohibiting the operation of a motor vehicle or watercraft while
intoxicated, under the influence of alcohol, or under the influence of a controlled substance.

Section 5. Additional Documents.
O Ihave obtained evidence of financial responsibility, which is attached to my petition. (Note:

You may not be issued an occupational license unless you obtain evidence of financial
responsibility.)

O TIhave attached a certified copy of my driving record to this petition. (Note: the court cannot
grant your petition without reviewing your driving record.)

O I have attached documents which demonstrate my essential need to operate a motor
vehicle.

O Ihave attached other documents, which are described below:

Updated 3/31/2020



2840 HWY 35, ROCKPORT, TX 78382
PHONE (361)790-0131
FAX (361)790-5392

JUSTICE OF THE PEACE PCT 2
JP2@ARANSASCOUNTY.ORG

JUDGE DIANA RINCHE-MCGINNIS { .

PRAYER

WHEREFORE, PREMISES CONSIDERED, Petitioner prays that this Honorable Court grant this
Petition for Occupational License, and to send a certified copy of this Petition, along with its order
granting petitioner’s occupational license to the Department of Public Safety of Texas.

Petitioner’s Signature

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me on this day of , 20

CLERK OF THE JUSTICE COURT OR NOTARY
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Texas Occupational Drivers License (ODL)

If your Texas driver’s license was suspended, revoked, or

denied but you need to drive ...

circumstances if you get an occupational driver’s license (ODL).

What is an “Occupational
Driver’s License” or ODL?*

An occupational driver’s license
(ODL) is a restricted license that
lets you drive at certain times,
on specific days, under certain
conditions, when you have an
“essential need to drive.”

An “essential need” means you
need to drive to:

v do your job,

v' get to and from work or
school, or

v" do essential household duties.

Where can I read the law?

You can read the Texas laws
about Occupational Driver’s
Licenses and surcharges in:

e Texas Transportation Code
chapter 521 subchapter L

e Texas Transportation Code
chapter 601.

e Texas Health and Safety Code
section 469.009.

e Texas Administrative Code,
Title 7, Subtitle B, Ch. 521,
Subtitle I, Ch. 708.

You can read the statutes online at:
www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us.

I AN = I
Can anyone get an ODL?
No. You cannot get an ODL if:

e you lost your driving privileg-
es because of a mental or
physical disability,

e you lost your driving privileg-
es for failure to pay child
support,

® you need it to drive a com-
mercial motor vehicle,

e the judge thinks you do not
have an essential need,

e the judge is worried about
public safety,

you have received two ODLs
in the past 10 years after a
conviction, or

e vyou have a “hard suspen-
sion” waiting period due to a
prior DWI arrest or convic-
tion.

you may still be allowed to drive under certain

Caution!

The process can take
weeks to complete and
can get complicated.

You may need to hire an attorney to
help you reach your goal.

Overview of Steps:

1. Check the status of your
license to see if you really need
to get an Occupational Driver’s
License (ODL) or if you can rein-
state your license at
www.Texas.gov/driver.

2. Check to see if you qualify for
an ODL.

3. Gather the forms and infor-
mation you need to ask the
Court to order DPS to issue you
an ODL.

4. File your forms with the Clerk
of the Court.

5. Go to Court to ask the Judge to
sign the Order.

6. If the Judge signs the order,
mail the paperwork and fees to
DPS right away.

See pages 3-4 for instructions...

Section 13, Article 42.12); and

: [ | E *Caution: Effective September 1, 2015, if your license has been suspended due to an intoxication
Offense under Penal Code 49.04 - 49.08, and you are obtaining an Occupational License:
¢ any vehicle you own or operate MUST be equipped with a working ignition interlock device in accordance with

Texas Transportation Code Section 521.2465 for the entire period of the suspension (see Code of Criminal Procedure

¢ you are not required to prove essential need and the ODL is not subject to any time of travel, reason for travel, or
location of travel restrictions (see Transportation Code 521.244 (e) and 521.248 (d)).




Step 1 Do you really need an ODL? Or can you reinstate your license?

Sometimes people think they need an Occupational This free site will tell you if you can drive with your current

Driver’s License when they could just reinstate their license and, if not, what you need to do to become eligible. If

license. you are not eligible, the website will tell you:

Before asking the court for an ODL, check your

1. The requirements to meet.

license eligibility status at: 2. The fees you need to pay.

Click on “Drivers License Reinstatement and Status.”

) 3. About surcharge waiver programs.
www.Texas.gov/driver

You can pay fees on this website and get information on how to
mail proof that you met the compliance requirements to DPS.

Keep checking the website because it is updated daily.
You can also call the

Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS)

to check your eligibility /qualifying status: = Be careful! Recent court actions, out-of-state
512-424-2600 (English) violations, and AG-reported child support arrearages
512-424-7181 (Espaiol) may not be reflected in your current eligibility status.

Step 2 Do you qualify for an ODL?

Even if you get a court order for an Occupational Driver’s License, DPS cannot issue one if:

*

%

*

%

You lost your driving privileges for a medical condition.

You lost your driving privileges because you owe child support.

You have received two ODLs after a conviction in the past 10 years.

You don’t qualify to get a Texas driver’s license because you are in the United States unlawfully. The documents to

verify that you are a citizen or that you are in the United States lawfully are listed at:

www.txdps.state.tx.us/DriverLicense/ ApplyforLicense.htm

V' Certified Abstract (Type AR) of your driving record from ance required by law. If you don’t own a vehi-

Step 3 Gather your paperwork v Proof that you need to drive to go to work, school,

v" Two court forms: or perform essential household duties, etc.
1) The Petition for Occupational Driver’s License asks the

Court to issue an order.
2) The Order for Occupational Driver’s License orders DPS
to issue you an ODL.

Examples of proof: your school schedule or
registration, a current pay stub, a letter from
your job, or an affidavit (sworn statement)
explaining your need to drive.

Print the court forms at www.TexasLawHelp.org. v
You can also use the interactive forms interview on
TexasLawHelp. With this program, you answer questions
about your need to drive, etc. Then you print out the
prefilled-in forms.

SR-22 proof of insurance from your insurance
company: Get the SR-22 (also called a
“Financial Responsibility Certificate”) from
your insurance company. The SR-22 proves
that you have the minimum liability insur-

DPS: Get your Type AR Certified Abstract: cle, you can get a Texas Non-Owner SR-22
Insurance Policy. Your insurance company
will tell DPS if the SR-22 coverage lapses, ter-
minates or is cancelled —and then your ODL
will be revoked.

*By mail with form DR-36 (takes 3-4 weeks, costs $20) or
*Online (quickly, cost $22 & must have audit number) at
www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/driverrecords.htm.




Step 4 File your papers Step 5 Go to Court

with the Court Go to Court the day of your hearing. Arrive early.
When you file your Petition for Occupa- When you go to Court, bring: Note: If you filed an Affidavit of
tional License with the Court you are ask- 1. The Order for an Occupational ;ndigilncy to waive the c.ourt fili?g
ing the court to order DPS to issue you Driver’s License form. Fill out ee's, the court may require proo
an Occupational Driver’s License. all but the restrictions and the ~ ©f income & expenses.

judge’s signature. At the hearing: The judge reviews
If your license was automatically sus-

pended or cancelled following a convic- 2. A Certified Abstract of your ) _
full driver record (Type AR). work. Then the judge decides

whether or not to sign the Order

your Petition and other paper-

tion, file the Petition in the same court

that convicted you. 3. The SR-22 from your insur-

granting an occupational license.
ance company.

If your license was not suspended or If the judge signs the order, he/

cancelled following a conviction, file the 4. Some courts may require a b il  th o
Petition in the county where you live or copy of the court order sus- LSl SualEh g (I CRIUY
where the offence occurred. You may pending your license and / or when and where you can drive.
have a choice between filing in District the notice of suspension from After the judge signs your order,
Court, County Court-at-Law or Justice DPS o/ ]

. get a certified copy of your filed
of the Peace (JP) court. If so, you may Petiti datl ified
want to research local procedures, court 5. Proof that you need to drive. PR e e L e B TR

copies of the Order from the

costs, and court scheduling to decide ) o
A copy of the filed Petition. clerk.

which court is best for your situation.

&»

™\
Ask the court clerk when you should ]
come back for the hearing. You may - You may use a certified copy of the Order for ODL to

need to schedule a time for your hearing. drive for 45days after the order takes effect. Read your

Note: Travis County residents can re- order to learn when it takes effect. See FAQ about waiting periods.

view the Instructions for Travis County If you don’t receive your ODL before the 45th day you can’t drive until
ODL Filers for local procedure infor- you either receive the ODL or go back to court to get an Amended
mation. Order for ODL that extends the deadline.

Step 6 Texas Department of Public Safety

A court’s occupational drivers license Order is not the ¥' A check, money order or cashier’s check made out

license itself. Rather, it is a court order telling the Texas to the Texas Department of Public Safety for the

Department of Public Safety (DPS) to issue an occupational amount you owe in reinstatement fees, if any.

drivers license to you. After you get the court Order, you must Go to www.Texas.gov/driver or call DPS at
contact DPS to get the actual occupational drivers license. 512-424-2600 to find out what you owe.
Mail the following documents to DPS as soon as possible! Mail all the documents together by certified mail return
v' acertified copy of your Petition for ODL receipt requested (so that you have proof you mailed
v a certified copy of the Order for ODL that was signed ~them) to:

oy the Judge \\ CentraTeCiassh?iieivin
V' your SR-22 proof of insurance certificate, &

S Box 15999

v" A check, money order or cashier’s check payable to the Austin. Texas 78761-5999

Texas DPS for the Occupational License fee. Send $10
for a 1-year license or $20 for a 2-year license.




Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Will the State have a lawyer against me at the
hearing?
Sometimes, if your license was suspended because:

e of a criminal homicide, or an intoxication offense
under Penal Code 49.04 — 49.08

* you were under 21 and your license was sus-
pended according to Texas Transportation Code,
521.342.

How do | get a Certified Abstract (Type AR) of my
driving record?

You may purchase your driving record online, with
a credit card and print it out. The online cost is
$22. You will need to enter your driver’s license
number and license audit number and the last four

digits of your social security number at:
www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/driverrecords.htm

To get a Certified Abstract by mail, print the DR-36
form called “Request for a Certified Abstract of a
Driver Record” from
www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/driverrecords.htm

Mail the completed form and a $20 check or money
order to Texas DPS. This form does not require the
audit number or your social security number.

Can | drive after the Judge signs the Order?

You may use a certified copy of the Order for ODL to
drive for 45 days once the order takes effect.

Read your Order to learn when it takes effect.

If you don’t receive your actual ODL from DPS
before the 45th day you can’t drive until you either
receive the ODL or go back to court to get an
Amended Order for ODL that extends the deadline.

Waiting Periods— Why wouldn’t an Order take
effect as soon as the Judge signs it?

An Order for ODL will take effect as soon as a judge
signs it UNLESS one of the following waiting
periods (also called “hard suspension” applies.

If your license was suspended for refusing or failing
a blood or breath test when arrested for DWI or other
alcohol or drug-related driving or boating offense,
the order for ODL cannot take effect for:

e 90 days after your license was suspended —if
during the 5 years before your arrest your
license was suspended because of an alcohol or
drug-related arrest.

e 180 days after your license was suspended — if
during the 5 years before your arrest your
license was suspended because of a DWI, Intox-
ication Assault, or Manslaughter conviction.

e 365 days after your license was suspended — if
during the 5 years before your arrest your
license was suspended because of a second (or
more) DWI, Intoxication Assault, or Man-
slaughter conviction.

How long will it take to get my ODL from DPS?

Processing time runs between three and four weeks
unless a waiting period (see above) applies. Call
DPS for more information at (English) 512-424-2600
or 512-424-7181 (Espafol).

What happens after | get my ODL from DPS?

e Maintain your SR-22 insurance. If your insur-
ance lapses, your Occupational Driver’s License
will be revoked.

e Always keep your ODL, a certified copy of the
court order for ODL and proof of SR-22 insur-
ance with you when you drive. Itis a Class B
misdemeanor to drive without a certified copy
of the court order in your possession.

e Only drive when and where the court order for
ODL allows you to drive. It is a Class B misde-
meanor to drive at other times or places.

e If the times and/or places you need to drive
changes, go back to court to modify the Order.

Surcharge Indigency/Incentive Programs

If your license was suspended for failure to pay a
surcharge and you have a low income DPS may:

reduce any surcharge amount you owe and

Moo=

let you keep driving while you make payments
on the surcharge amount. For more information
about this program go to:

www.txsurchargeonline.com
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